New Laws that just took affect September 1, in Texas!9/4/2011
It's September ... Some laws you should know about ....
If you are new to Texas, you may not realize that every year after a legislative session we get hundreds of new laws that take affect on September 1st. And again we will get more the first of the year.
So what are the key laws this year? I'm not really sure, but these are a few that I like, OR think people should know about with some of my commentary. (Please read knowing that I am trying to make you smile, not necessarily commenting on new law...)
1. I have hated the fact that after dark we had to slow down to 65MPH, especially in west Texas where the speed limit was 80. As I type, those signs are coming down. From an officer in my area, they have been told that the new law is in effect for night speed limit, so don't stop people not slowing down. Our legislators have also upped the max speedlimit in rural areas to 75MPH... I hope that doesn't change the 80MPH speed limits on I-10 heading to El Paso!
2. For me this is in the category of "I can't believe this has to be a law!" If any student athlete shows signs of a concussion they have to be removed from game and practice and evaluated by a doctor. Seriously?
3. In the same category as #2 and now driver ed instructors must now have a back ground check.
4. There are lots of new gun laws. Please google those if you are interested. Last time they made caring a gun in ones car no longer requires a concealed weapons permit. Because there are many qualifiers in these laws, please read these if they apply.
5. Catching catfish with your bare hands is now legal. Having a friend describe this, you can be assured that this new law will not change how I catch fish even if I was a fisherman! I wonder if HEB will charge more for fish caught with bare hands?
6. MY FAVORITE REAL ESTATE law. You have to bring a drivers license or state ID and a copy of your vehicle registration to prove you live in house your are trying to get exemption for. Hey guys, you have to really live there to get the break.
7. In the category of "I'm so glad I don't have kids!" Kids can't be prosecuted and have to register as sex offenders if they have sex with consenting KIDS that are at least 15 and they are w/in 4 years of age. OK I'm old 15!!! really? There are also new sexting laws that if convicted, parents have to go to classes with the kids. That actually makes sense.
8. Amber Alerts can now be issued for the elderly.... I thought I have been seeing these for years? So in 40 years you might see MISSING WHITE 4 DOOR with RE/MAX LICENSE PLATES...DIDN'T SHOW UP FOR CLOSING! You will really know that I'm lost then!
There are many sites with many of the laws. Click here for Official Info